Page 1 of 1

unable to see changes in database

Posted: Wed Jul 10, 2013 6:06 am
by ankitpatni
Hi,

I'm using Broadleaf Commerce 2.2 and unable to update my database with new product entry which i did from admin console. I would like to know that why my changes which i made in admin is not reflecting in database ?

I added couple of new product through admin console in Broadleaf database but when i check this under database table i won't find any product there. Is there any way which i need to consider or setup??? how can i add more product from admin and see those under database ?

Thanks & Regards,
Ankit Patni

Re: unable to see changes in database

Posted: Fri Jul 12, 2013 9:26 am
by jasoneasterday
are you getting any errors in the logs? if you are post the stacktraces..
also check your runtime properties files to make sure the properties on the databases are =update
Jason

Re: unable to see changes in database

Posted: Fri Jul 12, 2013 9:42 am
by ankitpatni
Hi jasoneasterday,

Thanks for reply,

In runtime-properties file called local.properties is having this clause "blPU.hibernate.hbm2ddl.auto=create" do i need to change this to update??

I already change this under development.properties file to "blPU.hibernate.hbm2ddl.auto=update". After doing this change under development.properties file i'll get following error under console "Can not find the servlet mapping for / ".

I'll really appreciate if you can crack this mystery for me.

Thanks & Regards,
Ankit Patni

Re: unable to see changes in database

Posted: Fri Jul 12, 2013 1:39 pm
by jasoneasterday
when you have those properties set to create, it recreates the database structures and repopulates them.. so by having them on create, you essentially erase the data every time you start up your server. If you change it to update after the database has been built (all of the tables created), then it won't overwrite your changes.
create - is good when developing with a clean database each time
update - if you want your data to persist from shutdown to startup
are you using eclipse?
is there any other errors in the logs? might require that you go to the server\log\ directory and find the stdout, or stderr files to see if there are any stacktraces occurring.

Re: unable to see changes in database

Posted: Tue Jul 16, 2013 2:24 am
by ankitpatni
jasoneasterday wrote:when you have those properties set to create, it recreates the database structures and repopulates them.. so by having them on create, you essentially erase the data every time you start up your server. If you change it to update after the database has been built (all of the tables created), then it won't overwrite your changes.
create - is good when developing with a clean database each time
update - if you want your data to persist from shutdown to startup
are you using eclipse?
is there any other errors in the logs? might require that you go to the server\log\ directory and find the stdout, or stderr files to see if there are any stacktraces occurring.



Hi jasoneasterday,

I have change both the files local.proerties and development.properties of site. After doing the change i got the exception in eclipse console

Code: Select all

[artifact:mvn] [ WARN] 14:44:54 PageNotFound - No mapping found for HTTP request with URI [/] in DispatcherServlet with name 'mycompany'


I'm still unable to crack this mystery that how to add new product under database and maintain the same later also...

I'll really appreciate your help on this if you can provide me step by step flow to fix this issue.

Thanks & Regards,
Ankit Patni

Re: unable to see changes in database

Posted: Fri Aug 09, 2013 2:24 pm
by jasoneasterday
Sorry for the delay on a response, have been swamped with work.
It appears the original issue is corrected though, now it seems you are getting another error. My guess is that your original startup isn't populating the database tables. Have you tried dropping your database and recreating it? Check to see if there are any sql errors upon starting up. What database are you using mysql? Might be worth looking at the 3.0 upgrade or new build altogether though.

Jason