Page 1 of 1

Configuration of Extension to Broadleaf Admin Module

Posted: Wed Mar 14, 2012 10:19 am
by jdsilva
Hi:

I'm trying to create an extension to the Customer Care module found in the Admin tool. I'm not sure if I have configured my extension to this module correctly or not. The app builds, deploys, and loads in my container without any apparent issues, however, when I click the Customer link in the Customer Care module the progress bars just stops and the app appears frozen.

When running in debug mode I don't see an exception or popup error message in the browser. I don't see an exception in the container's log file, either. I first want to confirm that the module has been configured correctly.

I have the <my_company>.gwt.xml file which inherits my extension module. In the same directory I have a <new_extension_module>.gwt.xml file with the following:

<module>
<inherits name="com.google.gwt.user.User" />
<inherits name="org.broadleafcommerce.cms.admin.contentManagementModule" />

<source path="client" />
<entry-point class="<full_qualified_extension_module_classname>" />
</module>


How are extensions configured as opposed to entirely new modules?

Thanks.

Re: Configuration of Extension to Broadleaf Admin Module

Posted: Sat Mar 17, 2012 5:45 pm
by jefffischer
Try adding this snippet to the onModuleLoad method of your module extension:

Code: Select all

GWT.setUncaughtExceptionHandler(new GWT.UncaughtExceptionHandler() {
            public void onUncaughtException(Throwable e) {
                if (e.getMessage() != null) {
                   SC.say(e.getMessage());
                } else {
                   SC.say("Uncaught Exception: " + e.getClass().getName());
                   e.printStackTrace();
                }
               
            }
        });


Your exception may be getting inadvertently swallowed for some reason. If you see a message popup, then this may shed some light on the issue.

Re: Configuration of Extension to Broadleaf Admin Module

Posted: Mon Mar 19, 2012 9:35 am
by jdsilva
I found the problem. The class name on the filesystem didn't exactly match the value of "customerPresenter" I placed in the ModuleFactory for my module extension.

Thanks for the code snippet. It should help a lot in future.