This is because development.properties in site has this:
Code: Select all
Which drops all tables when the site is shut down. You can change this to just "create" to only create the tables and not drop them on shutdown.
However, if you start up again all data will be wiped and recreated, so you can start up once with "create", shut down, and then change it to "update" which won't wipe any data.